Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Some people suggest that the circumstances of a crime and the reason for committing it should be taken into consideration when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the last few decades, it has become a subject of concern whether each crime should have its own punishment or whether giving a penalty must be done by analyzing all sides of crime and motives of commitment. From my standpoint, although fixed punishments could keep the balance among society and, allow people to know about consequences that their deeds would entail, judges should take into account conditions under which culprits broke a law as it is a good way to enact justice. On the one hand, it would seem fair to have only one type of punishment for a particular type of crime. The main reason is that by implementing such a system, we can guarantee that everyone will get the same penalty regardless of their social status, power, and authority. As a result, bypasses that potentially would be taken by authorities could be closed, and there will be equality within the population. In addition, it helps to warn people about penalties. Consequently, individuals will know what repercussions their actions will lead. It could also cater to reducing the number of crimes. On the other hand, I believe that it is indispensable to enact justice in the country. Punishing all guilt in the same way is a main obstacle to reaching justice. To explain, ignoring other circumstances of crime will lead to misunderstanding and judging with a shallow awareness of the infringement. If we imagine, for example, two people, both of whom intend to theft a pharmacy, but one of them is doing it to get the tablets for his mother, while another one is doing it to make easy money. As a judge, it would be unfair to give the same kind of punishment to both of them as only one of them could be a threat to citizens. To conclude, despite the fact that punishing culprits in the same way prevents discrimination and improves awareness of civilians, in my opinion, it is impossible to make a fair decision without knowing all the circumstances of the situation.