In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Before the onset of higher-level education, students are largely pushed for a year-long hiatus to explore the world and earn some extra cash. There are both pros and cons in moving forward with this idea, and I will discuss them further in this essay. The gap year can be productively utilized in several ways. First, high schoolers can take up a full-time job to gain experience and money for financial needs. The learnings from these opportunities serve as a cornerstone for students ' future and point them to the right field of studies like finance, science, or technology. Second, due to extremely hard competitive nationwide exams in India and other countries, some kids prefer to spend the pause between schooling for preparation and tend to score better on tests. Third, other youngsters who are undecided on their career paths, consume this break to take vacations and discover the nuances of planet earth. In contrast, high school graduates, with no prior higher education experience, are forced to work at low wages. They end up in food chains such as McDonald’s and Starbucks or at convenience stores eventually adding no major substance to their resumé. Not only do the students lose one precious year, but they are also left with no money saved for the future. Travelling for long periods of time is expensive, leading to additional expenses that could have been used for educational finances. To conclude, students can choose to take a break for a year if they fully understand its pros and cons. Proper guidance and counselling from parents, peers and teachers can help young people make the right decision for their future.