People today shop, work and communicate with others via the Internet instead of face-to-face communication. Is it a positive or negative development?

The Internet has become more and more popular all over the world for a long time. There are both pros and cons for the public to communicate with each other online. My view is that using the internet to communicate with other people has more benefits overall. Firstly, it is obvious that the public is getting closer to each other than before after using the internet. This is because people used to communicate with their friends who were living oversea by written letters and sometimes it took over 2 months to deliver them. After using the internet, people can talk with their friends at any time and in any place all over the world. Moreover, people can save lots of time by using the internet. For example, some university students may spend 1 hour going to school every day, now they can take classes online and save them 1 hour on the way to school. So that they have extra 1 hour every day to do what they are interested in. That is not to say that using the internet to communicate with people has no disadvantages. There is a sign that more and more adults are relying on the internet for their daily life such as online shopping, playing games, watching movies and so on instead of going out for social. But it is still a small number of people. In summary, it is a great thing for people to shop, work and communicate online because the internet can help people to communicate with each other easier and save everyone’s time. Meanwhile, the public may reduce their social behaviour face-to-face due to the internet. Therefore, people should try to adjust how much time they gonna spend online every day.