In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

I want to share my views in the discussion about the importance of both Local shops and Shopping malls. Firstly, the local shops used to have a big market in the earlier days because there was no alternative and people's financial situation. But the case right now is a bit different nowadays. People have multiple options for buying their products, such as Shopping malls, Online shopping etc., and the public is ready to purchase any product at any cost without compromising. That doesn't mean People are buying altogether in shopping malls. Let us take my father as an example. I took him to shopping malls and showed him how to purchase products online, but his preference is to go to local shops because of the higher comforts and good relationships with the locals. I want to add another example here, and If you buy Sunflower oil at Local shops, you will find only one or two companies, but the situation is entirely different in malls like D-Mart, as you can find more varieties. People running local shops purchase wholesale in large shopping centres, such as the Metro, in urban areas. The present generation is opting to buy in shopping malls or shopping centres because of their availability in cities. Finally, I want to conclude that both aspects have customers, such as local shops and shopping malls. Hence, People move from one option to another based on the product to buy and its availability. Many people are moving towards large shopping centres because of the broader range of varieties in the malls.