Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would be little effects on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that building more sports facilities is the most effective approach to improve residents’ health, others argue that this has not have many positive effects on public health and they require other measures. Personally, it seems to me that citizens could gain undeniable advantages from exercising at public sports places but other measures also play an integral role in public health improvement. On the one hand, because prevention is better than cure, constructing sports facilities in public places is a useful way to prevent citizens from diseases. This makes not only physical but also mental health better since those places attract many people to come and train together. Sports facilities, especially those located in public spaces will inspire residents, even children and the elderly to exercise. Besides exercising physically together, citizens may share common things in their life such as mutual interests which bring them closer and recover their spirit after long working days. For example, after witnessing an upward trend in the number of people participating in sports games in public spaces, Thailand recorded a significant reduction in the number of patients in hospitals to be treated by psychological therapy. On the other hand, the healthcare system and educational methods are making outstanding contributions to protecting public health. Firstly, modern hospital facilities which the government is taking into account ensure patients’ peace of mind to be cured in case of suffering diseases. In addition, periodic health checks organized by public hospitals help people diagnose potential risks of diseases and find helpful treatments in an early manner. Lastly, educational methods raise residents’ awareness in process of disease prevention and health promotion which enable people to increase control over their health. Therefore, public health is protected actively by residents’ medical knowledge. In conclusion, while sports facilities certainly improve public health, I do believe that other measures need to be invested to bring more medically mental and physical benefits to residents.