Smacking is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Smacking children is very common in some cultures. Physical punishment is often considered to turn them into civilised young ones. This essay will argue that even though hitting children lead to improved behaviour, it may affect their mental health; therefore, this should be completely discouraged. However, having a conversation can be a better solution for a positive outcome on children's behaviour. When parents hit their wards, it reinforces power. They find this method acceptable because they were tackled in the same way in their childhood. Moreover, guardians are convinced that smacking causes physical pain, leading young minds to link it with lousy memory of being hurt, in turn refraining from repeating similar actions. For example, if a boy is slapped for using foul language, he understands it to be a bad habit as well as associates it with the fear of being slapped again. Some parents think inflicting fear on youngsters is an appropriate way of raising them. Physical punishment, however, is absolutely wrong as it works by scaring the child. Eventually, the bond between parents and their wards is also compromised. The child may prefer staying in their private room, avoid mingling in the family get-together, neglect conversation with parents and stop sharing their ideas with them. Research on child psychology says that adults with frequent episodes of being beaten up by their parents turn out to be rebellious and underconfident people. Hence, proving a long-term side effect of such punishments. In conclusion, hitting any child may show satisfying results in the short term, but it leaves a negative impact on their brain. Instead, counselling is the best way to train them. Parents should explain and share their own life experiences with their children. This will help them to understand their actions, know the consequences of such actions and realise their mistakes, leading to a long-lasting impact on their personality, making them responsible adults and better humans.