Today food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays, because of advanced transportation systems, products can be spread around the world. Therefore, goods can travel a long distance to the end users. There are pros and cons resulting from this phenomenon. In the essay, I am going to discuss them and the reasons why I opine that the benefits overweight the drawbacks. To begin with, globalization and the development of transportation make international business become more and more common. In the past time, farmers needed to carry their products to the markets to sell which was limited by geographic factors. In contrast, with the innovation of aeroplanes and freights, goods can be delivered to their destinations in a shorter time nowadays. No matter how far the distance is, food can be transported from country to country. For example, mangos growing in Tainan are well-renowned among international communities. The product was even exported to India and Japan. On one hand, transportation needs fossil fuel which contributes to the increase in carbon dioxide emission and affects negatively ecosystems. However, the phenomenon is beneficial for some developing countries. They depend on exporting crops to earn money. As a result, it changes people’s lives and also provides consumers with varied goods to choose from. It is viewed as a benefit for both suppliers and buyers. In conclusion, transport allows food to be delivered to destinations which are far from the suppliers. That pollutes the environment but helps individuals to purchase products from other countries and gives civilians chances to sell goods. Therefore, it can be considered a positive trend.