International sporting events like the Olympics and football World Cup place huge financial burdens on host national that cannot be justified. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Organisation of great tournaments such as football World Cup and Olympics is believed to be a big money pit for it's host. Although this events cost a lot, development of tourism, economy and increasing in happiness of residents make them a good investment. Firstly such a big event happening in the country leads to development of touristic infrastructure. While people visit the country, competition between hotels, restaurants cafes and other facilities increases. International standards are being integrated. Consequently, country becomes more convenient for tourists after the tournament as well, meanwhile if the competition didn't happen the country would be less preferable for tourists in future. Second reason is psychological. Events taking place every day, people who you've never seen before. All this activities create a unique atmosphere of something special, consequently, people are filled by emotions they have never had and situations they would never face. In other words while all the world is following the news from that event, residents of that country are in the epicenter of these activities and the happiness it brings worth the money spent on it. In conclusion emotional fulfillness of residents and further economical development bring a lot of benefits to the host country.