Nowadays children are given more freedom than before. Is it a positive or negative trend?

The way of parenting has changed and now young people have more privileges than the last generation. I firmly believe it is generally a positive development because children will be more independent and their characteristics will be evolved. To begin with, parents used to feel that giving some more space to their offspring could lead to certain circumstances such as having the bad company of friends or getting lower marks which could affect the future of their children. However, a twenty- first digital era with so many opportunities and offers might prevent all of these possible occasions. Thus, little children may go out with their friends without the supervision of their parents as they have GPS applications. With this small step and gradual granting of freedom, adolescents may learn independence and build confidence. Another beneficial side of this development is a child who has a choice and liberty would improve his/her decision-making skills and see the differences between right and wrong actions. In fact, kids who have freedom of speech tend to be open-minded and overcome obstacles by themselves as they quickly could solve the issue and make a decision. For instance, a child who decides to tackle the situation on their own will see the consequences and whether the decision is right or wrong, they will learn from their mistakes. To sum up, even though the supervision of parents towards their children was stronger in the past, currently, modern families can see the pros of giving freedom to their children since they could witness the development of their child in making decisions, gaining confidence and being independent.