Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

It is believed that healthy pursuit subsidies can enhance employees’ productivity. I personally disagree with this statement to some extent, and I will explain why in this essay. On the one hand, it is true that such leisure-based subsidies would have a major drawback which is that their efficacy is virtually impossible to quantify. For example, with target-related payments, employers can at least see whether the objectives are reached or not. It might also be said that, if this budget was spent on (for instance) on-the-job training or day release programmes, the employees would achieve better career progression and have better job prospects. These matters are all easier to measure, especially in performance reviews and appraisals, and may even help to reduce the risk of redundancy if the company restructures, downsizes or outsources its workforce. On the other hand, though, we should consider the various benefits that employees might gain from this program. If workers are fitter and less stressed, their working time will be more efficient, leading to higher levels of output and service. Furthermore, the work/life balance of the staff will hopefully be improved, because their leisure time will be more fulfilling. This may even be more motivating than pay increments, perks, or financial rewards such as bonuses or incentives which may be hard to attain. Finally, feeling healthier may lead to better job satisfaction, which is in itself a motivating factor. Overall, while health-related subsidies are superficially attractive for implementation, It seems to me that the lack of measurability is a more substantial drawback. Spending funds on ongoing training would appear to be a better use of company or human resources budgets.