Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree?

Building new roads and motorways instead of investing in public transportation is the most common idea in many countries. From my viewpoint, I think that the government should spend on both sides. On the one hand, there are several reasons why constructing roads and lanes for motors is more practical. To begin with, upgrading the quality of roads can reduce the number of traffic problems. When roads are widened, the number of traffic jams might decrease. Also, it is safer to drive on a high-quality and smooth road or motorway. This means there will be fewer accidents. Moreover, using private road transport is considered more convenient. Drivers can save a large amount of time by using their own vehicles. This is mainly because they do not have to depend on the schedule of trains or buses. On the other hand, investing in public transportation is also necessary. Firstly, using public means of transport can help protect the environment. When the number of vehicles declines, a substantial fall in the amount of emissions may be witnessed. Additionally, it is likely that the demand for fossil fuels will also decrease. Secondly, travelling by public transport can be economical. In other words, those who take buses or trains on a regular basis can save a considerable amount of money. For example, in Vietnam, the expense to travel daily by bus is much lower than that of operating private vehicles such as cars or motorbikes. In conclusion, although diverting the budget to the construction and maintenance of the road system is essential, the government should allocate the same amount of funds to public transport.