Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this fast-paced world, everything can be obtained almost instantly. This is due to the advancement in technology. A similar mentality has been adopted by people when it comes to the health aspect. A large number of people suffering from health issues prefer alternative remedies and medicines instead of seeing a professional doctor. This is mainly because they aim at temporary comfort and lack patience. I believe that this is a negative development as it has many demerits which will be discussed in this essay. First of all, the minor ailments for which alternative medicines are preferred may be symptoms of a more serious condition. For instance, a person experiencing stomach pain may continue to take painkillers to ease the pain whenever it occurs but this may be a sign of a dangerous disease such as cancer, ovarian cysts etc which can only be discovered by a physician. This condition can get worse with time after which no treatment is effective. Secondly, people are often unaware of the side effects of the remedies and treatments they seek to treat ailments on their own. For instance, diabetic patients have to check their sugar levels before they commence any kind of treatment. However, when they try to treat some problems on their own with alternative tablets or syrups they fail to do so and this can be dangerous. In contrast, a doctor knows what he is doing and will be very careful in such circumstances. People tend to seek other options for treatments mainly due to the financial aspect. They think that seeing a doctor for minor ailments will be a waste of money. But this is not the case. To state a personal example, My friend Divya had frequent headaches and she always used to take painkillers as she thought that consulting a doctor for a minor headache would be a waste. However, when the ailment became serious she had to consult a doctor and perform surgery which cost her double the amount it would cost if she had seen the doctor in the beginning. To summarize, individuals often back out from professional treatments due to a lack of patience and to reduce costs but in the long,run this proves to be dangerous and quite expensive as it can lead to major diseases and side effects which may not be easy to cure.