Many people have difficulty maintaining a healthy diet. What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

In recent times, maintaining a healthy balanced diet has been difficult for many due to two main reasons. Firstly, people are indulged in a busy lifestyle; and secondly, budget restrictions have made it easier for people to pivot towards fast foods. This negative development can be solved by increasing the prices of processed foods and by reducing the prices of organic fruits and vegetables, in addition to educating the population. Lately, in order to earn more money, people have incorporated themselves into the hustle-and-bustle culture. Consequently, they have no free time to prepare home-cooked meals, which are on the healthier side. As a result, many rely on processed foods as it requires minimal preparation time. For example, a study conducted by the University of Delhi published that 80% of IT professionals are at a risk of obesity due to the prolonged intake of processed fast foods. Moreover, the current generation's goal is to save money rather than to take care of one's health. Hence, as fast foods are cheaper, many tend to choose this over the healthier alternative. However, this problem can be solved by the government. By increasing the tax on processed fast foods, people would think twice before purchasing them. For instance, in 2020 when the price of 'Maggi' increased by 10%, the company lost sales by 70%. Furthermore, the government could take initiatives to educate people on the downsides of eating an unhealthy diet. They could use media such as television or radio to reach a wider audience. Additionally, people could be taught how to cook a simple home-cooked balanced diet, which would be easy to follow. In conclusion, due to a busy lifestyle and unhealthy mindset, many deviate towards eating fast foods. Conversely, by educating the population and by increasing the prices of fast foods, people might opt for a healthy, nutritious meal instead.