An increasing number of developing countries are expanding their tourist industry. Why do you think it is the case? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

A quick reflection on a typical day reveals, how the advent of technological advancements has revolutionized every aspect of public life, especially, the tourism industry. At present, more and more developed as well as developing countries are inclined towards the expansion of their tourist sector. In this, essay we are going to look at the most eminent reasons behind this and the type of development it causes. To begin, nowadays, a number of nations are working towards expanding their tourism. One of the most prominent reasons behind this is to attract foreign currency, which helps to uplift the nation’s economy effortlessly. Additionally, this sector requires minimal maintenance. Consequently, the government of a particular country can invest more in other imperative fields like technology and defence. For instance, in the era of 1990, Dubai was one of the poorest nations. However, United Arab Emirates expanded its tourism, to overcome economic problems. Just on the basis of their tourism, the sector they have not only overcome general welfare problems but also their economy is on a boom since then. Hence, this field is the easiest way to enhance a nation’s economic growth and it’ll also help countries to stay ahead of the curve as compared to others. Paradoxically, despite tourism's several paramount advantages, its disadvantages outweigh its positive side. This notion could be explained by the fact that public attractions will attract people from all around the globe, which results in overcrowding. So, the government need to allocate more resources to manage bustling places. Furthermore, tourist visits will boost drastically, which is directly proportional to the increase in waste produced by the visitors. As a result, pollution as well Air Quality Index will also, rise, which can be detrimental for tourists as well residents. For example, a study conducted by the YALE university on the Taj Mahal, One of the Seven Wonders, in 2011. The study showcased that the increased number of visits to the Taj Mahal was impacting the outer infrastructure of a place, due to a surge in pollution. Hence, this field can lead to some catastrophic outcomes, which can be hard to overcome for a particular nation. In a nutshell, while, touristry is the best way to bring enhancements in economic sectors as it requires few resources to manage, it is a type of negative development, which can be a direct result of an increment in air pollution. According to my opinion, this zone definitely supports negative development, unless the government imposes a few restrictions and fines on garbage produced by visitors.