More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other products. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years and as a result of the advancement of modern society many social members prefer to acquire internationally recognized brands of clothes, cars, and other items. The question of whether or not this is a positive development is a very controversial one. In my solid opinion, this is not a positive trend due to the reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Without a shadow of a doubt, using luxury accessories makes a contribution to having good feelings. However, it should not be forgotten that sometimes the community sacrifice their honour for their desires. By way of example, in the modern community, the value of people is measured by the brands of their stuff, not by their culture, knowledge, etc. Normal individuals who have a common income should focus on handling their life instead of buying this costly stuff. Thus, they are judged regardless of their moral values. I strongly believe that this trend becomes something like addiction. In addition, the target community of brands is the younger community. Undoubtedly, desiring to show off is an integral part of youth that makes some problems for instance they prefer buying brands stuff to saving money for integral things like a house. In other words, they pay attention to insignificant things instead of important issues. There is no denying the fact that purchasing items is popular amongst the young generation as a result it changes into an addiction. Furthermore, moving toward consumerism contributes to ignoring moral values. Consequently, it seems that purchasing such kinds of brands of clothing and other items exerts destructive effects on society and is therefore a negative trend.