In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? Is that a negative and positive development?

It is true that more time is spent on working by workers in many nations nowadays. There are several reasons for this phenomenon ranging from paying for a living to reaching admirable achievements. In my opinion, both advantages and disadvantages coexist in this tendency. On the one hand, one primary motive for working overtime is to improve living standards. Since the inflation rate in many countries these days indicates the signal of continuous rise, the resident are put under huge financial pressure and need to earn much more money compared to that in the past so as to maintain their basic livings. For instance, it is recorded that the price of Chinese broccoli in an eastern district of Singapore has increased by roughly 40% due to extreme weather and costly transport fee. As a result, people not only have to save money but also must promote their work. Furthermore, the desire for success is also a reason for this phenomenon. To be more specific, many ambitious people want to gain the recognition of other people for their achievements or to win over their colleagues. Therefore, they immerse themselves in long hours working for their goals. On the other hand, this propensity consists of both benefits and harms. In terms of advantages, the increase in people working overtime will help boost the productivity of the enterprise. This allows the company to manufacture much more goods and deliver them faster to the customer. Therefore, the profit of the business will be promoted resulting in higher salaries for the workers themselves. Regarding the negative effect, it is clear that many health problems could be anticipated from working overtime. It is suggested that people should spend an average of 8 to 10 hours per day working to ensure normal health, surpassing this will result in many severe disorders. For example, it is proven that people working over 11 hours per day are 67% more likely to suffer from depression. In conclusion, earning more money and gaining high accomplishments are the main motivations for working overtime. While productivity will be promoted, health problems are the negative effect of this tendency. It is predicted that the basic income of one worker will increase so fewer people have to work overtime.