These days, many university courses are offered through the internet. Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while others claim that there are significant disadvantages. Do the benefits of online teachings outweigh the disadvantages?

With the rapid development of information and networking technology, people’s way of living and working has changed significantly these days. Impacts of change are also found in teaching learning styles. Nowadays, many educational institutions have conducted their courses virtually. Many people opine that internet education is more beneficial than physical teaching. However, others do not agree with that view. In this essay, I will examine the merits and demerits of online study and draw a conclusion in this regard. Physical education has certain important values. Many governments have invested a large amount of their budget to create a good study environment. For example, many trained teachers are hired, plenty of universities, schools, and colleges have been established for a long period of time and infrastructure has been built to serve the purposes. Since the physical, practical education system carries a very important significance in personal development, and social and cultural relations. It also contributes to the increment of economic activities, employment generation and so on. Online education (self-study) may have limited benefits in comparison to physical education. On the other hand, many others believe that online teaching is quite easy. It is also conducted at a low cost. However, online education can not be practical for all types of subjects such as science, mathematics, arts and so on. They need a practical background which is not possible in a virtual medium. For that reason, I believe online teaching methods can not overshadow the physical teaching-learning methodology. It can be said that online schooling has been taken as an alternative only in case physical classes can not be organised due to natural disasters, pandemics and so on. To conclude, providing education distantly is also an option for certain occasions as an emergency alternative, provided it can not be a permanent replacement for physical classes.