Counties are becoming more and more similar because people are able to but the same product anywhere in the world do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it has become much easier for an individual in one part of the globe to purchase an item in another country via the internet without having to visit the store selling it. This trend has its merits as well as demerits. In the following paragraphs, I have highlighted the positives and negatives of this new development. On one hand, e-commerce has the advantage of improving the portfolio of goods from which one can choose to buy. Having a wide range of options can be valuable when you are trying to make the best choice. For instance, a buyer in Nigeria, who needs to acquire a laptop, can find a variety of online shops distributed all over the world selling at different prices. He or she can, therefore, be able to make the best choice based on whatever criteria they want, which could be based on price, quality or even brand name. On the other hand, the globalized market makes it difficult for shop owners to apply price discrimination and as a matter of fact, it encourages price uniformity, which is a situation where all dealers try to harmonize their prices by copying from other shop owners. This is not desirable because soon, the cost of all items in a given category will become the same. For example, a shoe manufacturer in Nigeria who produces shoes at $15 and sells at $25, on seeing another merchant from Spain offering $50 for a similar footwear, will naturally adjust he's too with the aim of maximizing profit. To conclude, the globalized market has its pros and cons. It avails the customer many options to choose from, however, the drawback is that it has the potential of making the cost of similar products become uniform which is not healthy for the customer.