Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make desicions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often discussed that children deciding on their own choices could lead to individualism. While this might be true because kids tend to be concerned about themselves, minding their own choices could grow the sense of decision-making process in the future life. Children posses arrogant and individual behaviour naturally. They always want to be prioritized and specialized in everything. If they are given an opportunity to choose, many people are afraid that this individuality will worsen, leading children to be arrogant when they grow up. For example, kids who continuously eat a sugary diets because they crave it might see an obesity issue when they are adults. Obese people are often reluctant to change their diets because the bad habit have already incorporated in their lifestyle for a long time, making the lifestyle changes is a hard thing to do. In other words, there should be a limitation on the freedom level that is given to children. On the other hand, giving children freedom of choice could teach them how the decision-making process works. In real life, people make many decisions with a lot of considerations. By allowing them to make their own choices, they will get used to making choices with its considerations. For instance, a young person who is given liberation in choosing what clothes to wear tends to be more fashionable when they are adults. Thus, permitting them to make decisions at a young age could prepare them facing a more complex problem in the future. In conclusion, while allowing kids to make their own decision at a young age could spark individualist behaviour, it might teach them to do better in decision-making process.