In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In many regions across the globe, there is a gain in population of people in the city than the countryside. In my opinion, I think this issue has both a positive and negative development in terms of employability, lifestyle and the development of a country. The benefit of moving to the city, is mainly because there are better job opportunities. However, a well-paid job comes with a required standard and in return, people are offered a healthier working environment along with a well-paying career. This will then allow the citizens to spend on an improved living space as well. However, to achieve this opportunity, training and extra education may be required. As a result, not only will the citizens earn a good income, but the country will also earn a number of educated people. In contrast, the countryside may be facing major problems due to a lack of labour. For instance, if agriculture is an important growing aspect for a country, then the reduction of harvest will lead to little to no local products for the market. Hence, the farmers will lose their jobs. As for the government earning sector, there will also be a decrease in incomes that are always generated from farming. Consequently, the farmer won’t be able to afford their living anymore. In conclusion, not only does the city offer a higher level of education, but it also provides great employment opportunities which can lead to an upgraded lifestyle. However, the countryside might be facing several risks such as a lack of farmers, a drop in local products and poverty.