Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

All over the world governments consider economic development is their most significant task but few individuals believe that other kinds of growth are also very important for any country. In my opinion, both of these viewpoints are equally important in any country if they want to grow. In this essay, I will provide different reasons to support my statement. To begin with, in today's world economy is the backbone of any country and without a progressive economy, a country cannot become a global power and shine on the world stage. Furthermore, a strong economy will provide a strong defence against its enemies because economic growth will provide money and with that money, a country can build or purchase weapons to defend itself. Secondly, if the economy of a country is showing upward growth then all the other sectors will also be growing with it and as a result whole country will be developed. Once a country is developed then its people will have more money to spend and their purchasing power will be increased. Hence, people will demand other kinds of items which they are not buying before. As a result, more money will be spent towards research and development that will be beneficial for the country in the long run. In contrast, people also think that other factors are also important and countries should focus on them as well such as education, entertainment and health care systems. They argue that economic progress will provide financial support to all the people of the country but it will not be beneficial for the society as long as they are educated and mentally relaxed. In conclusion, economic development or progress no doubt is the main driving force for any country but alone it cannot help a country to turn into a developed country. Other factors like educated and healthier people with peaceful mindsets can generate better ideas and innovate new things that can be helpful for the human race.