New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Novel technological developments have altered the way young children make time for themselves. Despite the obvious advantages of this trend, I believe that these are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, one of the benefits of advanced technologies in youngsters’ spare time is that they can discover the world online. To be more specific, they don’t have to move out of their houses to learn about life out there. For example, a young child in America can watch a video about Lunar New Year in Vietnam on Facebook. Moreover, thanks to this online platform, he knows that sticky rice cake is the symbol and the soul of this festival. For that reason, he can gain more knowledge about Vietnamese cultural festivals and it is really beneficial for him. On the other hand, I believe that the disadvantages are more significant. Firstly, spending free time on technology might result in health deterioration for children. The reason for this is that minors have a tendency to lie in the bed and browse websites all day. This will cause diseases such as obesity or myopia. Secondly, children who make technological advances their priorities tend to lack social skills. Specifically, children immerse themselves in their virtual worlds and they don’t have a desire to interact with people around them. For instance, primary students nowadays love to play Minecraft. What is more, they lock themselves in their rooms to make friends with animated characters. As a consequence, when they meet people in person, they lose the ability to verbally communicate. In conclusion, I would argue that new technological improvements bring more adverse effects than advantages.