Nowadays, many people prefer to buy famous brand of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Contemporarily, it is quite known that a significant number of people are interested in purchasing designer wears and driving fancy cars. Society has evolutionalised revolutionised to the extent that fashion has become a competition. This essay will consider some of the reasons for this, and the impact it has on individuals and society at large. Firstly, lots of people have become fashionistas currently, and rush to buy new trends. People are keen to drive the latest model of cars. This may be due to the fact that driving luxury cars and possessing other popular items depict your wealth, in that, it shows your current social status. For example, owning an iphone 13 in this modern time indicates that you are rich. Secondly, in my opinion, people always want to be recognised and sometimes want to feel confident at wherever they are, hence, tend to appear attractive with a famous dress and other items such as watches and phones. Furthermore, this, I believe, have both positive and negative impacts on individuals and society. People would always want to appear lavished, consequently, will do all sort of things to ascertain this. This could increase the crime rate such as frauding and arm robbery. Younger children could copy this behaviour and in the long run, affect the future generations. In terms of the pros, young adults who see the positive aspects of this situation could strive harder to achieve a higher-level of status in society. For instance, a teenager who fancy cars and would like to drive one could work or learn hard to be wealthy in future. They would do all kinds of legal jobs to achieve their dreams in the years ahead of them. In conclusion, possessing brands of clothes and other items is not a bad thing, but in my perspective, the means to which these things are acquired matters the most. Children look up to these people in our country, therefore, citizens should make sure they use the right means to own these luxuries.