Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Although few individuals believe that in all the years spent schooling, a blend of time has been consumed on fact-finding rather than on hands-on experience, I firmly agree with this statement. This is because school learners have always been taught to memorize answers, and the academic style lacks a well-equipped laboratory in most schools making it impossible to teach the students practical skills. First and foremost, the traditional system of education has always prioritized memorization of facts without inculcating practical knowledge in the students. For example, law students spend countless hours learning historical events and case law instead of engaging in moot and mock courtroom experience, which will enable them to get acquainted with the day-to-day life of being a Lawyer. Therefore, there is barely any time left to practice what they have learned. Furthermore, most institutions do not have a well-furnished laboratory where their students can carry out experiments. In addition, in today's dynamic and ever-changing job market, employees seek individuals with problem-solving skills, creativity, and adaptability, which is what many students lack. For example, during job interviews, many job seekers are not called back for the next stage because they lack the prerequisite practical skills. Moreover, this could have been resolved if they had acquired practical knowledge or engaged in internships with a senior colleague. In conclusion, while facts and theories in their field of study provide the necessary groundwork for knowledge acquisition, practical skills equip students with the right tools to navigate the real world and contribute effectively to society. I believe universities can introduce internships, apprenticeships and other experimental skills to provide students with essential hands-on experience that will make the job market easier for them to navigate.