Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently, while others consider that they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The hiring process is intensive and as complicated as it sounds. Every year, employers place an advertisement in the classified or through social media to find the right hire who would be responsible for various duties within the organization. From one point of view, people would argue that while recruiting, people who are innovative and work independently should be hired by companies. While on the other hand, it is often argued that firms should hire those who work in a team and follow instructions. In this essay, I will discuss and analyze the salient features from both perspectives and draw a reasonable conclusion from my opinion. To begin, firstly people who work independently are sought after by firms since they are creative and tend to bring new ideas that would be in the best interests of the company. Although they may require little attention, they are highly motivated and focused on accomplishing their daily tasks. However, since they work on their own, they could have great pride in their abilities and would frequently get into heated discussions and arguments with their colleagues. Moreover, because of their creative mindset, they could also learn from the company and implement it with myriad businesses in different industries. Thus, such professionals would work for only a short time with the company. On the other hand, the professionals who tend to follow instructions and in a team would mostly be younger employees who look up to their managers for ideas and creativity. For example, they would be competent to discuss with their peers every task assigned to them. Furthermore, they would have to play second fiddle to their managers and there would be limited growth within the firm. Such employees would be in the manager's good books since they value teamwork and cooperation more than personal gains. In conclusion, after having carefully discussed both perspectives, in my opinion, although people who are innovative tend to bring new ideas, it is those people who work in teams better suited to work in major companies where they have to follow day-to-day instructions from the management. There would be more efficacy in business operations if there is greater team spirit among the workers.