Some countries are struggling with an increase in crime rates. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In many parts of the world, the prevalence of committing crimes has been undergoing an upward trend, and it is said that the sole solution to reduce crime rates is an increase in the number of policemen on the streets. From my viewpoint, I hardly agree with this opinion because there are many other remedies which might be taken into account. On the one hand, if more and more police were on the streets, people would likely not commit illegal activities because they hesitate to be caught. Pickpockets can be taken as a prime example; indeed, such crime usually happens in crowded places where there is little supervision of the authority. Nevertheless, this idea requires a large number of people in charge and correspondingly there may be a leap in the budget for their salary. Ultimately, the discussed remedy is seemingly not prominent. On the other hand, the given problem can be addressed by many different methods. First and foremost, cameras and other advanced technologies, which are tremendously more cost-efficient, can supplant the police in supervising citizens. Moreover, they can do such repetitive and dull tasks so that authorities do have time to take responsibility for onerous ones. Second, governments should also raise public awareness about the dire consequences of criminal conduct; for example, social campaigns should be implemented as a precaution. Hence, as being conscious of punishment, almost everyone might opt to be upright citizens. Eventually, the two remedies are bound to be far better than the prior. In conclusion, although more policemen can help to alleviate the density of crimes, it is not the only solution. Instead, it is recommended to take advantage of technological development and mass education.