Many people believe that cigarette smoking has had a negative impact for far too long and the only solution to end ot, is to make cigarettes illegall worldwide. To what extent to you agree or disagree? Give explanations and examples to support your opinion.

There is currently a contentious argument over cigarettes affecting people's health negatively for too long. Some individuals argue that the only way to stop this is to ban smoking all over the world. I partially agree with this idea and I will elaborate my arguments in the following paragraphs. On one hand, I believe that smoking should be illegal worldwide because it adversely affects the human body. People who actively smoke during their adulthood may suffer from health diseases like lung cancer in later years. Research shows that every year more than three thousand patients die due to lung cancer and it shows the detrimental consequences of smoking. Moreover, smoking causes problems for non-smokers as well also known as passive smokers. Research claims that passive smokers have a high chance of getting respiratory illnesses like heart disease. For these reasons, laws regarding the ban on smoking should be accepted. For example, Bhutan became the first country in 2004 to outlaw smoking in all public places. On the other hand, it is also true that the prohibition of smoking might lead to a rise in the black market which makes the condition even worse because of the reduction in safety measures. To illustrate this, we can take the example of drugs like weed and heroin. The selling of these drugs is illegal, however, these drugs are sold in large quantities in black markets worldwide, especially in Europe. These black markets are also involved in kidnapping and murder cases as well. Youngsters are often the easy target and become addicted to smoking as it contains nicotine. Addicted people then commit crimes and become a threat to society. In conclusion, I agree that smoking ought to be illegal because of health concerns however government should also take measures to ensure safety and regulations.