It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishments' is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? what sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Teaching children to distinguish right and wrong is one of the most important and also difficult tasks of parenting. Children should get familiar with ethics and principles at a young age when their character is getting shaped. Some parents believe that punishment helps to prevent children from wrongdoing. This essay is an attempt to express my opposing view about this notion and an explanation of what can be done to encourage kids to good behaviour. To start with, physical punishment has negative effects on kids' character and mental health. Punishment has been linked to anxiety, depression and antisocial behaviours. Punishment has been known as one of the important reasons for anxiety in children besides other factors like being abused or neglected. Researchers believe that the negative impact of punishment remains in a person's mind in adulthood as well. Moreover, punishment often fails to deter youngsters from doing unpleasant things. Actually, it does not teach good behaviour or the reason for it. Instead, it makes the child angry. It directs the child's attention to their own suffering and resentment rather than how their unwanted behaviour can affect others​. In order to encourage children to behave properly, parents and teachers can withdraw the child's privileges so that he or she tries to compensate for the mistakes. For example, Parents can reduce their pocket money or postpone taking them to the playground until they find out they did something unpleasant. Also, penalties can be more effective when they are related to the action that has been done. For instance, picking up the rubbish they have dropped, cleaning up the graphite they have drawn and apologising to someone they have hurt. In this,way we can arise feelings of responsibility in the child that is more likely to lead to good behaviour in future rather than physical punishment. To conclude, violence should not be used against children to stop them from doing antisocial actions as not only it harms their body and mind's health but also it will not work out. And they may suffer its ill effects in future as well. Instead, other methods should be used to solve the problem.