In many countries, young people are finding it harder and harder to find permanent jobs. Why is this happening? What can be done to improve the situation?

Many young people around the world are struggling with getting a full-time job after their graduation from university. This is not only because of their skills which not meeting the industry’s demand, but also the global economic downturn. However, there is some possible solution to resolve this challenge. First and foremost, despite the increasing number of teenagers who just graduated from college, their capabilities to perform some tasks are not sufficient to meet the requirements of the industry. Since there are lots of job applicants from all over the world who have their own unique values and expertise, fresh graduates mostly failed to compete with other experienced candidates. For instance, some companies might hire someone who has the capabilities of running a programming language with 2 years of prior working experience, but most fresh graduates are incapable of doing this job. As a result, people do not get jobs in the industry. On top of that, an economic recession might also contribute to this problem. Many people get layoffs and several companies implemented a hiring freeze. This way, they will not hire a new employee during a hard time. Tackling this issue needs an eagerness to learn from the job seeker itself. The first thing they can do is improve a growing demand for hard skills, for instance, programming and designing skills. Thus, they will have value added to bring when they apply for several positions in a company and eventually will be able to win the hiring processes. Other than that, fresh graduate needs to be open to any opportunities, and most importantly, they have to seek an industry that is growing in the market. For example, most of the open positions are coming from an IT and technology company. This way, they can get permanent jobs more easily. To conclude, the lack of technical skills and the global conditions are two major reasons why young people strive on getting a job. As a consequence, the youths must adapt to this kind of situation to be able to get into the job market.