Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether newly built houses should be designed the same as the old houses in local areas or whether people are free to design their own houses. While I understand the logic behind the former view, I am still in favor of the later. Those who believe that building new houses should follow the same pattern as the old houses may have several arguments. They may well argue that new houses should follow the design of old buildings in local areas. In the same areas, there are some houses which are built following the design of old houses in those areas. This is one of the important proofs for the safety of the design. Because of that, many people built their houses the same as the structure of old houses to ensure that their construction is solid and has a long lifespan. Another possible argument is that building similar houses creates an aesthetic for the area. If most of the houses in that area are built similarly to the old house, these houses will be the same. This creates a symmetrical design for the whole area. As a result, that area becomes stunning when viewed as a whole. For example, many urban areas have built rows of similar houses to increase the aesthetics of that area. Nevertheless, I still believe that people must build their houses in their own style for some reasons. Chief among these is that people have the freedom to modify the design, making the owner comfortable. If they use the old design, this will have some structure being redundant. For instance, the old often build their houses with a large garden. However, this design is not a good choice for the young who are enthused about technological houses. The second reason is that the creativity of the house can improve the beauty of the whole area. In other words, when people have freedom to build their houses, the local areas do not have repeating structures. Unique designs make the area stunning. In conclusion, it is understandable why some may argue that people have to build in the same style. However, I would take the view that the owner should be free to build their houses.