In many countries, teenagers are encouraged to do part-time jobs. What is the situation like in your country? What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of doing part-time jobs?

In the modern world, there are various types of jobs available for people depending on their requirements and needs. The trend that teenagers pursue part-time employment is gaining popularity in many nations. In this essay, I will delve into the situation in my homeland, and present the benefits as well as the disadvantages of this practice. To begin with, some young adults in my nation are adapting relatively quickly to this development mainly for two reasons. The first one is the high cost of tertiary education which becomes quite a heavy burden for a number of families with poor incomes. By doing part-time jobs, they partially share the financial burden with their parents. Additionally, they are willing to earn work-life experience at an early age instead of solely knowledge from schools or colleges, through which they might be able to have a clearer idea of their desire and future career. Then it comes to advantages, there are a few to be note. Juveniles can profit from the financial, social, and personality-developing aspects of part-time employment. For instance, it helps them cover day-to-day expenses and instil good habits of discipline and time management into teenagers because creating a balance between work and study is crucial in order to perform both productively. Moreover, young people can improve their social skills and broaden contacts with diverse backgrounds, supporting their professional life in the future. However, some downsides should also be acknowledged. Those are detrimental factors to their health and influence their social life and study outcome. For example, young students who frequently pursue part-time jobs may experience stress to a certain level, resulting in the development of health issues such as sleep troubles or reduction of concentration. Consequently, they may not have efficient time for their family, friends and hobbies, and more importantly, those disadvantages will affect drastically their study outcomes owing to absenteeism and bad marks in exams. In conclusion, the trend of part-time employment is growing relatively fast in my homeland because of the high intuition fee and financial burden of the family. This practice is beneficial with regard to the development of good discipline and time management habits and the creation of better social skills and contacts for their future career. Nevertheless, the drawbacks also need to be noted due to their impacts on teenagers’ health, social life and academic results.