Some people think that studying online is more effective than studying on campus. What are the advantages and disadvantages of online study?

In modern times, virtual learning has gained paramount importance and as a result, some people are inclined more towards online courses by considering them as effective than traditional courses. However, there exist both pros and cons for this type of study. In this essay, I shall discuss both merits and demerits of online study. Examining the merits, the most prominent advantage of online training is students are free from the hassle of travel. This means learners can save a lot of time thereby, studying in their comfort zones. Another major benefit is, because of virtual learning nowadays more liberty is given to students in the choice of college all over the globe which is otherwise very hard to get admission. So overall, this type of education is open to anyone in the world who are willing to learn at their own pace. On the flip side, there are a few demerits which cannot be ignored. Firstly, it is not possible to control the students thereby, the learner lacks discipline which is considered an essential trait of the student. Secondly, online platforms do not provide any scope for physical interaction which makes learning mechanical without any joy. Lastly, there is no physical interaction between the tutor and the student. To conclude, though there are a few disadvantages such as lack of social interaction and discipline there are significant advantages like being free from travelling, being able to learn from world-renowned Universities by staying at home and learning based on your own schedule is an added benefit of online study.