The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all the shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Expansion of E-commerce business would lead to a significant closure of physical stores in cities and towns soon. In my opinion, I would partially agree with this statement. To commence with the physical stores, online shopping will not be able to replace all existing shops. Firstly, there are products which need to be purchased by customer’s after reaching a shop because they need to experience the product before purchasing it. For an example: - Purchase of an Automobile by a customer would always prefer to have a test run of the product before they purchase it, which requires the existence of physical stores. Secondly, there is always a customer segment that would not be encouraged by the growth of E-commerce platform as they are more comfortable to purchase products by visiting the store. Hence, the demand for physical shops will exists. On the other hand, E-commerce platform has created an opportunity for business to operate economically, effectively, and efficiently. The growth of online shopping recently, have led businesses to open more virtual stores in their websites, as it is lucrative. Thus, leading to an increase in the closure of outlets but not all. Furthermore, it has enabled them to reach a wider community by overcoming many challenges with ease. For an instance: - With the expansion of online shopping, businesses are now able to sell their products to a large market without investing in outlets, which allows them to operate more efficiently and economically. In conclusion, it is important to understand that the growth of E-commerce business will lead to an increase in the closure of outlets because of the opportunities it persists but it will not lead to a discontinuation of physical stores fully.