Some people believe that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence.

Nowadays public debate has been going on over whether a person's culture is defined by their country of origin. Some people agree and think that the culture in which a person has been born in is his for the entirety of his life. In contrast, others believe that due to today's way of communication - social media, a person's culture is only slightly influenced by the country human has been born in, culture is a person's choice. Firstly, people believe that person's culture is heavily influenced by their homeland because usually, that's the culture of their parents and grandparents. Thus it is common to see counties' influence on a young, developing child. For example, if it is usual in the country of a person's origin to speak one language, and celebrate particular holidays which are common for that region, the child will embrace those traditions and this will be part of his culture, part of his identity. Furthermore, the homeland's influence is seen in human's choice of food. Traditional cuisine is tied to the region and traditions, thus in one person's culture, you can see his origin by choice of food, because no matter where a person sets to live, comfort food usually becomes the food you ate when being a child. As a result, the way and place where human being was brought up has a great deal to his culture. On the other hand, in today's world where it is hard to point out what is from one culture and what is from another, a person's culture becomes solely his own choice. Social media has given every one of us the ability to see and follow different traditions of the world. Thus, a person's culture is less likely to be influenced by the country of origin. For example, younger people these days tend to celebrate Halloween. Though in my country this time is intended to mourn and remember the dead ones. Younger generations choose to follow new traditions, thus changing the common culture of a person born in my homeland. As a result of the wide use of social media, today's person's culture is more likely to be influenced by a popular personality's culture rather than the person's country of origin.