Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, we are exposed to a huge amount of information. Individuals are literally bombarded by media and advertising plays a fundamental role in this game. Some people argue that this tool encourages consumers to buy stuff they don't really need, whilst someone says that it is useful in order to know new products. I completely agree with the former idea because advertising makes us overwhelmed and addicted to shopping. In this essay I will explain my reasons and I will provide some examples. To begin with, one of the biggest problems of modern society is the high exposure to an incredible amount of information and this is very dangerous for individuals' mental health. Everywhere we go we can listen to or read announcements of companies who invite us to buy their "perfect" products. This drives people into a bad emotional state because they feel overwhelmed. For example, last week I went to the cinema with a couple of friends and before the film started, on the screen appeared several advertising advertisements and I noticed that my friends were losing interest in the film. Secondly, the marketing strategies of brands can create an addiction to shopping, by making people feeling always incomplete. These strategies have the goal to attract more and more customers. These new advertisements have very good designs and are also very attractive to people. The problem is that this can make a person addicted to buying constantly something new in order to satisfy a fake inner desire. For instance, a recent studio from Marketing Research shows that most of the time people enter in a shopping center without any intention to purchase something, but from the moment that they enter, they are bombarded with marketing announcements and, inevitably they start to buy items that they don't really need. To conclude, despite the advertisements can keep updated about new items available, in my opinion, they are designed in order to make people purchase useless stuff, provoking in them a feeling of overwhelming and addicted.