Some people think that the (government should provide (assistance) to (all kinds of artists) including painters, musicians, and poets. However, other people think that (this is a waste of money). Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-increasing number of people urging governments to support artists by providing pecuniary assistance, while others contend that government budgets should be allocated to citizens in need. In this essay, I will delve into both perspectives. The fundamental reason for providing artists with certain monetary benefits is that creating a piece of art, such as a painting, a song or a poem involves an immense amount of time and effort. To illustrate, Vincent Van Goh, who was one of the greatest painters in the world, devoted his whole life to painting. Each of his masterpieces required over 3 years to complete, whereas he received no income during the entire period until he could find a purchaser for his artwork. It is indisputable that artists invariably struggle to earn sufficient income to maintain their lives. Consequently, it is fair to demand governments to offer appropriate financial assistance to those artists. On the contrary, there are a staggering number of individuals who ascertain that governments ought to utilize their budgets wisely, that is, apportion their funds to people in poverty. Poor citizens often lack enough food and they are homeless. These people are urgently in need, therefore, should receive financial assistance before artists. Moreover, many individuals complain about the limited resources in their healthcare systems. Once they are diagnosed with critical illnesses, for instance, cancer, they must queue for years to use the public medical service. In conclusion, financial assistance plays a pivotal role in fostering art development in a nation, nonetheless, there are plenty of citizens in poverty demanding a helping hand from society. From my perspective, I largely agree that it can be wasteful if governments allocated a significant amount of funds to support artists.