in some countries children are often told that can achieve anything if they try hhard enough what are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

In modern society, adults tend to push their kids to try hard in order to achieve their goals. In this essay I will examine the advantages and disadvantages of encouraging children to work hard for their dreams and I will provide some examples. This kind of behaviour has two main positive consequences for youngsters. To begin with, if we motivate them to work hard for something that is valuable for them, they can grow very fast and achieve it. For instance, Micheal Jordan in his biography talks about the fundamental role he played as his first coach when he was a teenager, who always pushed him to do more repetitions than others in order to become a champion in basketball. Secondly, when parents encourage their sons to overcome a challenge, the confidence the kid can increase dramatically, by making him more sure about himself. For example, my dad used to do this with me, and if today I'm a confident person is thanks to him. However, this attitude towards children has an important problem. From my personal experience, I've learned that the role of a parent is always appreciating his kid and may be dangerous for the mental health of children by putting too much pressure on their shoulders. Sometimes an adult can have too many expectations about the kid's results and this can damage his relationship with him. A clear example of this is one of my friends who was very good at soccer, but due to the fact of pressure of his dad, he failed in his career as a soccer player. To conclude, nevertheless putting on youngsters too many expectations can have some disadvantages, in my opinion this attitude can boost their confidence and help them achieve their goals.