Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

During the last thirty years, social media have been rolled out into all the corners of our lives. Some people state that this deprives us of live communication; whereas others contend that this makes it easier to receive new information. I suppose that the profits certainly outweigh the drawbacks. Let us delve deeper into this topic and have a closer look at the profits and outdraws of this phenomenon. One of the prime disadvantages is that people waste much time stuck on their phones and can sometimes miss the real life around them. We tend to check out our e-mails and social media accounts every spare minute as well as scroll the latest news on our devices instead of stopping for a moment and enjoying things in the real world such as feeling the wind blow on our cheeks or watching something that is going on right now next to us. Examples are everywhere you look: people do this constantly while standing in a line at a shop or waiting in cinemas for a movie. Another disadvantage is that the technology supersedes face-to-face communication with other individuals. For instance, we can often see people sitting together at a coffee shop staring at their devices in their hands instead of talking to each other. On the other hand, there are undoubted advantages of this phenomenon. It is definitely convenient and helps people save time when they can instantly receive any information they want to know or talk to literally anyone, be it a video call to their parents or texting with their colleagues. For example, we quite often use our phones to get to a certain spot on the map, to do sightseeing or to find an unusual place to visit on the weekends. Another example is that although I am currently living in Vietnam, I can always call my family in Russia. In conclusion, I personally think that the advantages definitely outweigh the drawbacks because I am a techno-optimist and believe that technological progress makes our lives easier and is inevitable for mankind to develop.