Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. However, it is becoming apparent that in countries such as USA and Australia illiteracy is on the increase. Discuss some possible causes and effects this phenomenon has on the society.

It is widely believed that the absence of knowledge has seemed the third problem in the world traditionally, it is true that this issue is increasing significantly in some countries especially, in the United state of America and Australia. The impending essay will discuss the reasons for it and will elaborate on its effects of it on the community. There are multiple reasons for the shortfall of literacy among Americans and Australians. To start with, an increasing number of people avoid learning environments because of high living expenses which contributes them to being unable to pay school fees because they have other bills to pay. For example, the University of Toronto announced that in 2019 yearly tuition fees for two semesters were almost 13000$ which caused 55% of students dropped college. Furthermore, the reduction of books is another major issue that results in a significant effect on illiteracy because they are the only educational materials for learning educational programs. one of the main issues of illiteracy in the community is the lower graduation of professionals this leads to a dramatic shortage of classes in the educational institutes which in turn resulting few students in the classroom. For instance, the Times has announced that Texas has the fewest teachers in the entire provinces in America because just 100 hundred educators graduates yearly. Another negative effect of it is increasing the rate of committing crimes in public areas because most criminals steal in order to earn money, As a result, those who avoid the learning environments become murderers or thieves. To conclude, it is argued that people with a lack of learning are one of the third problems in the globe, however, the reduction of books and high fees are the main reasons for it in the United States of America and Australia, committing crime and graduation of few teachers are the negative effects in the society.