Many offenders commit crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It often happens that many criminals repeat their bad behaviour right after they are free from jail. It may happen because the punishment is not hard enough to punish them, forcing the officials to give extra consequences. This essay will emphasize the reasons why it happens and the ways to reduce it. To begin with, a criminal may redo their bad behaviours after they serve their sentences for several reasons. Firstly, there might be a loose law that gives a light penalty for a certain crime action, tempting offenders to recommit in the future. For example, in Indonesia, the maximum sentence for a corruption defendant is 5 years in prison, no matter how much money they corrupt. This light penalty triggers the defendant to recommit corruption after 5 years in jail because the benefit is way greater. Secondly, a bribery culture makes many offenders could easily reduce their penalty by bribing the judges. In other words, a light sentence and bribe culture could lead to a high crime rate. To tackle the high crimes, the officials should propose a new law that puts a harder punishment for criminals. A long time in jail gives a higher possibility for them to remorse for their mistakes, thus, reducing the probability to do it again in the future. Furthermore, enforcing the law tighter, especially in a bribery practice, could also lead to criminality rates decrease. If those steps are implemented, the offenders will feel more remorse for their falses. To summarize, the reasons why many offenders keep doing the mistakes they did in the past are a loose law that gives a shorter punishment than it should and a bribery culture. To tackle those issues, proposing a new law that gives a harder sentence and strict law enforcement might solve the problem.