Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that they fail to find any relevance to their own lives of the news they see on TV or read in the newspaper. While I accept that this opinion appears logical, I believe that this is a very narrow and absurd perspective, and I strongly disagree with the idea that news has no link to people’s lives. On the one hand, some people accept that their own individual lives are not influenced by events that take place all over the world. This may be true if they consider only such news items as the lives of celebrities, the results of football matches or the latest fashions. They claim that this attitude does not mean they are set in their ways or behind the times. They also content that they are able to hear through the grapevine about local events that might have a bearing on their lives. Life to them, hence, can continue perfectly normally without TV or press news coverage On the other hand, there are several main reasons why this point of view is notoriously misguided. First of all, it is vital to see the big picture from national and international news as relevant to each individual. For instance, a bulletin about climate change or, very recently, the breaking news of a plague which may affect every person on the planet. Secondly, from an economic perspective, financial or business sections of the newspapers carry necessary information which have an impact on the lives of everyone. In conclusion, despite the triviality of much reporting, I completely disagree that keeping abreast of the news is a waste of time.