Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us more about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, advertisements have notably changed customers’ buying behaviour. Some argue that they induce impulse purchases, while others are of the opinion that they are better informed about the products that may improve their lives. From my personal perspective, I agree with both viewpoints and will delve into them through this essay. To begin with, I agree that people often buy unnecessary goods advertised. This happens because they are persuaded and blinded by the illustrative, incomplete, and one-sided description of the promotion. Consequently, consumers make purchases without considering whether they actually need them. For example, I am sometimes attracted to an offer of a brand-new bag from my beloved brand, and consequently, I purchase the bag although the design is similar to my previous one. Thus, there is an inclination toward uncontrolled purchases as a result of advertising. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that customers are provided with more information about the products through the commercial before making orders, resulting in improving their lives. By watching advertisements, they are able to make better comparisons among different brands in order to be less likely exploited by unreasonably exorbitant prices. For instance, thanks to the adverts, I was able to find a good deal buying an air ticket for my vacation, meaning saving me extra unnecessary costs. Hence, the beneficial aspect of advertising should be acknowledged as it helps people have a broader view of the items on the to-buy list, which may attribute to their lives’ improvement. To conclude, I agree with both arguments that advertising can trigger uncontrolled buying and that consumers’ lives may get better when they are better informed about the product.