One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expenctancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, an increasing number of people live longer than before thanks to the medical advancement. As consequences, there are several prominent merits emerged. For example, people can now enjoy longer life with more quality time. The amount of knowledge one can pass to the younger generations increased. On the contrary, the cost to support old people is continuously on the rise and the burden to take care of them became heavier to their children and grandchildren. I would like to discuss the longer life expectancy's advantages and disadvantages and finally want to state that I believe its benefits outweigh the drawbacks. The first merit of longer life is that now people can take more time to spend each stage of their lives. For example, compared to decades ago, people can enjoy their longer period after their retirement in good health. As a result, they can spend more time on their hobbies or they can go back to school to restart their studies. Young females now have more flexible time to have their babies which in the past was a shorter window. The second benefit of living longer is that people can pass their knowledge to the younger generation in more abundance. Which is to mean that researchers can spend expanded time to devote on their studies and as a consequence, significant academic and scientific developments can be expected. However, undoubtedly, there are some serious problems incurred due to people live longer. The most serious problem is the financial pressure on governments and households. For instance, cost of medical care has been ever increasing in correlation to the rise of life expectancy. The second and equally serious drawback is the significant burden to those who support senior citizens, their children and grandchildren who need to spend huge amount of time and energy to take care of the seniors. In conclusion, as discussed above, there are a number of benefits of people living longer as well as some drawbacks. Considering the both, I believe the merits outweigh the drawbacks as we can live longer and healthier, human intelligence can one day be able to overcome the demerits. Already, some devices to support senior citizens have appeared, such as AI caretakers and robots to support old citizens' daily lives.