Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Many people have been increasingly using alternative medicines without receiving doctors' advice. I partly disagree with this trend which is considered a negative growth in our community and support that having professional medical treatment is a better way. On the one hand, many people hold a belief that visiting physicians are more time-consuming and costly rather than treating with alternative drugs. This is because many patients usually spend their whole day waiting for their diagnostic tests in public hospitals, while some private clinics can provide assistance faster but come with extra fees which low-income workers can not afford. By using unconventional medicine, such as herbs taken from their own gardens or drugs bought from pharmacies, people could find it effective immediately in some cases, more convenient and cost-effective than going to the experts to get treated. On the other hand, using "natural" remedies may worsen their illnesses in the long term. It is obvious that physicians have comprehensive knowledge about diseases and treatment, knowing how to cure patients effectively and avoid allergies from happening, while alternative drugs could not be scientifically proven and contain by-products which generally lead to side effects on the human body. Take a painkiller as an example, using it can lessen discomfort directly, but if patients abuse this drug too much, it could cause nausea or constipation and reduce the immune system in the long run. In conclusion, having some unconventional remedies to cure mild diseases may be acceptable to some extent, but it is undeniable that the efficacy and safety of the treatment should be guaranteed by doctors.