Some people believe that government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce congestion,others think that building more and wider roads is the best way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is frequently thought by a number of people that leaders should fund the construction of train and underground rail lines as a solution to limit congestion on the roadways, while others think that increasing the number and width of the roads is the most effective solution. This essay will expound on both sides and express my own view. On the one hand, the spending budget for a little city is usually small, consequently, funding railways will be almost impossible. When a city is small and still has few residents, raising the number of roads or widening them is the preferred method to address the rowdiness on the highway. To illustrate; Bida, a little town in Kenya, had to settle for widening the roadways to curb congestion because they could not afford the cost of train construction. On the other hand, trains remove the need for commuters to move using their own private vehicles, more so, they will still be useful when the city expands and exceeds the capacity of previously widened roads. For example, 70% of the highway crowd was reduced in Kaduna after rail lines were built in 1994 and the congestion problem has not resurfaced until now. Therefore, although the construction of a rail system, whether over land or underground, is an expensive feat that many rulers are reluctant to invest in; it is thought by engineers to be the most effective and sustainable means to curb congestion. To conclude, the most efficient means to solve traffic congestion is often debated. Constructing rail lines or making roadways wider are some of the options discussed. I believe that although trains are the more expensive option, they are the best solution in the short term and in the long term.