It is responsibility of government to take care of health of citizens or citizens should take care of their own health. Give your opinion.

People have different views about whether governments or individuals should be responsible for the retirement/ health / unemployment problem of the population. In my opinion, I believe that both authority and citizens should be accountable and collaborative efforts are needed to address this issue. On the one hand, the authority has the liability to improve public welfare. Significant taxes should be imposed on junk food, which is detrimental for health status and leads to various diseases such as diabetes and obesity, and this can help to discourage people to consume burgers, carbonated drinks and fries. Moreover, governments could invest in public hospital system to improve the quality of service and reduce the cost of medicines. If a better public health service is provided, for example, patients will benefit from this and save their time as well as a large amount of money. In this way, citizens could have access to an improved quality of life. On the other hand, residents themselves should also take the responsibilities for their own health issue. Firstly, they should choose a healthy lifestyle rather than a sedentary one. For instance, people should adapt to cycling or jogging instead of driving to work if their commuting trip is short. This can not only benefit their health, but also helpful to improve air quality, which also leads to less diseases and longer life expectancy. Secondly, complementary health insurance is also needed to ease their financial burden when citizens are in serious health conditions. In conclusion, I believe that a better physical and mental conditions for each individual could only be achieved by the mutual collaboration between authorities and residents.