Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are many foods and beverages that have a high level of sweet ingredients which are harmful to our health. Some people argue that increasing the price could decrease consumption. I agree with the solution and I will elaborate on the reasons in the following paragraph. To begin with, high levels of sugar could jeopardize our fitness level and contribute to the main cause of obesity which is very harmful to our bodies. Furthermore, it also leads to many severe diseases, such as cancer and diabetes. For instance, research from Cornell University shows that consuming 50 grams of sugary products daily could increase the probability of getting diabetes by the age of 40. In other words, sweet product consumption above the safe level could cause many health issues. To tackle the aforementioned issue, a price increase is the most effective way to combat the high intake. By raising its cost, some people will not able to afford it, thus, only a few people would purchase and consume it. Moreover, it also encourages many manufacturers to reduce the sugar ingredients as the production costs become costlier. For instance, a soaring tax on sugary foods in the United States successfully decrease production, leading to fewer products in the market. Therefore, a soaring price might be the best option to discourage people to consume sweet foods. In conclusion, despite its drawback as it decreases our fitness and leads to many severe diseases. The rising price is the most effective way to combat a high level of its consumption.