Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sugar is a very common ingredient in many manufactured foods and drinks, which consequently is not very healthy to be consumed for a long period of time. While increasing the price of such products can temporarily alleviate the problem, I believe that more long-term solutions are needed to tackle this issue, which we will discuss in this essay. It's mandatory for brands to put their products ' nutrition facts and their prices on their packaging, however, few people pay any attention to that information and hardly notice the reason behind the overpriced products. Nevertheless, research has shown that in many cases if the high price of a product stops people from consuming that product, they would find another way to feed their cravings for sugar. For example, people might reduce or stop buying high-sugared orange juice but when they are ordering tea in a cafe they would pour a huge amount of sugar and make it super sweet for themselves. To tackle this problem, both consumers and product producers should be encouraged to reduce their usage of sugar. Furthermore, the government could encourage brands to use less sugar in their products by using tax incentive schemes. In the meantime, by educating individuals from a young age in school, people would adopt more healthy habits and are more likely to choose more healthy products as they grow up. To sum up, it seems that increasing the price of sugary products is a temporary solution and to ameliorate the health issues consistent with sugar consumption, authorities should start educating people about the risks and enforce laws for brands regarding the amount of sugar used in their products.