Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment what damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem

There is no denying the fact that the problem of products made out of unnatural materials is turning out to be catastrophic for the environment. Today, our surroundings are filled with things made from them and their growing numbers are deteriorating the soil, oceans and earth, in general. In my essay, I will discuss the problems created because of its continued usage and the steps that need to be taken to stop further destruction along with a suitable conclusion. Initiating the factors that are causing damage by the usage of plastic, the biggest one can be stated is the pollution it creates. It does not decompose easily and stays as-is for as long as 140 years. Hence, its garbage disposal becomes extremely troublesome. If burnt, it pollutes the air and changes the composition of our atmosphere, creating breathing difficulties for living beings. If dumped in water bodies, it destroys aquatic life, as it kills the plants and fishes that eat them. To cite an instance, Scientists have predicted that in 30 years, oceans will have more plastic than fish, which will disturb the oceanic ecosystems and result in erratic rain patterns. Moreover, if they are left on land, it alters soil composition, affecting nutrients which ultimately decreases agricultural produce and forests. However, if adequate initiatives are taken up then it is possible to stop this rate of deterioration and protect the planet. Waste disposal should be segregated so that authorities can easily purpose garbage made completely out of plastic to construct roads. For instance, I was involved in a project with the Goa pollution board, which wanted to implement a system where waste from every house is segregated. This ensured that plastic waste is separated at the source and is used for productive operation. Additionally, the authorities should ban the use of plastic which will reduce its production. To cite an example, the governments of the state of Maharashtra and Karnataka have successfully abolished its usage and reports emerged stating that pollution levels are decreasing at a considerable rate. In conclusion, solving a global crisis of negative effects of plastic management on the environment, cannot be solved overnight. I am of the view that everybody should come together to solve the issue at the grass-root level. Only then we can ensure the preservation of our surroundings.