Many developed countries are giving financial aid to poor countries. However, this hasn’t solved the problem of poverty in these nations and so other types of help are needed. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

There are two types of countries around the globe: the developed countries and the poor or developing ones. It is true, indeed, that many of the richer nations are providing financial aids to poorer developing countries, despite the fact that it does not successfully eradicate the problem of poverty. Thus, I strongly agree that other solutions must be introduced to deal with the issue, alongside with the existing financial supports. There are numerous reasons why poverty is a big problem in some nations where monetary supports from other countries are essential. Nations that are constantly suffering from extreme weather, natural disasters and wars are normally those with weaker financial ability as the basic necessities like food and accommodation of citizens are not fulfilled due to destructions of their agriculture farms and residential areas, not to mention the money-earning industries. Financial aids from richer nations are needed to help these unlucky ones to rebuild and recover from unfortunate events. Otherwise, they will remain as third-world- countries due to the scarcity of resources and the problem of poverty will never be resolved. Nevertheless, aids in other aspects, such as providing job and academic opportunities to their people are also needed to mitigate the issue of poverty. Through introducing more of them to the academic and working realms, developed nations help them to pick up skills and knowledge that can later be brought back to their homeland to assist in industrialisation and disasters prevention, which in turn foster the development of their countries. The root cause of poverty must be addressed in order to combat the problem and it is doubtless that illiteracy is the major culprit. By receiving higher and in-depth education, they can learn about economic models and will be inspired to change the current situation of their mother nation. In conclusion, although it is insufficient to solve poverty solely by providing financial aids to the poor nations, this approach is still significant. Developed nations should also seek ways to assist through providing educational and job opportunities to the citizens of poor nations.